Advanced Fabrication Lab

A999/A989 controller hack / Cheap universal increase range mod

For the past couple of months I and my team has been working everyday all day on a new project, Air Reinforced Structure for Fablab x Global Maker Showcase in Shenzhen but due to MERS outbreak in Korea the official invitation has been revoked. Now I got a day job and the evening time is free, there is some time to post on my blog.

 

 

Earlier this year I installed an FPV device on a WLtoys A999 rc car, which is only $25. Playing with it was fun but I wanted to control it like a rover, non-LOS reconnaissance.

 

 

There are numerous ways to achieve non-LOS operation with 2.4G controlled cars but one (easiest) way of it is to simply increase radio power. Conventional Wifi booster works perfectly but it is expensive and bulky, being about $50 or more for 2W booster.

 

 

Instead, I bought a 2W circuit board (XQ-02A) for $12 which is basically the expensive booster stripped down(plus some extra circuit board).

 

SKU157663a

 

 

It can takes 6V directly from controller’s 4 AA batteries. I connected the shield of RG316 cable to ground, and also made a quick dipole antenna with 22AWG wire.

 

 

Now A999’s control is pretty crisp, at least as long as I can see with my 5.8G 200mW FPV. Of course penetration for 5.8G is the worst of all FPV frequencies and I am thinking to get 1.3G FPV gears and some other stuffs with some dough I get from my day job..

 

 

 

Here’s the video of it sneaking around the science museum at night, turn down the volume

 

 

Comments are closed.